By Faith She Mothered

Sometimes I get tired. Not always physically tired but what I like to call “tired of.” Tired of washing dishes, tired of correcting arguing children, tired of picking up. . . .  After a while, these things feel pointless. I make myself do these things when I don’t feel like it, and where is the reward?

I was feeling this way one Sunday recently when my Sunday school teacher began reading Hebrews 11. I listened as he read of Abel and Enoch. I didn’t feel any better yet. When he read about Noah, I wondered, “Maybe it took him 120 years to build the ark because he quit a few times.”

But when he read about Abraham, some things began to make sense in my mind, especially when he got to this passage:

“13 All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance, admitting that they were foreigners and strangers on earth. 14 People who say such things show that they are looking for a country of their own. 15 If they had been thinking of the country they had left, they would have had opportunity to return. 16 Instead, they were longing for a better country—a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them.”

All through this chapter, people believe in God’s promises and then act accordingly. How does that apply to my life? I thought about God’s promises to me, about losing my life for His sake that I might find it. About how He has promised that whatever good anyone does, he will receive it back from the Lord.

The people in Hebrews did not receive the promises but believed and welcomed them, believing that God had prepared a city for them. That is how I want to live as a mother. Do I believe God’s promises to me?

By faith, I will wash these dishes believing that God sees and will reward me for serving others.

By faith I will correct my children believing that God has promised my work is not in vain in the Lord.

One thought on “By Faith She Mothered

Leave a Reply

