My First Blog Post Ever and Thoughts About a Book

Hi Everybody.  As you can see, I decided to start a blog.  My posts will probably consist of my activities, thoughts, pictures and miscellaneous other things.

If you know me, you probably know that I read.  A lot.  So on this blog, I will probably give summaries of books I read pretty frequently.  With that said, this last week I read a very thought-provoking book titled The Difficult Doctrine of the Love of God by D. A. Carson.  The purpose of this book is to bring to light some very common false ideas about the love of God and to establish correct and Biblical views.  False views would include the sentimental image of God that is promoted in America primarily.  This is the view that would show God as needing someone to love and, therefore, He created us.  This view also states that if God loves us so much, there must be something attractive in us.  Neglecting the other attributes of God such as His holiness and wrath contributes to these false views, and we start to picture God as forlorn and worried because so few people come to Him.  This book disputes this view by expounding on the perfection of God’s love for Himself, or in other words, the Father’s love for the Son and the Holy Spirit and vice versa.  Seeing this dispels the thought that God needs someone to love because inside the Trinity, there is perfect and complete love.  God chooses to love us, but His love is never separate from His other qualities.  Also, this book defines and expounds on the different aspects of God’s love, discusses how God’s sovereignty and His love relate to each other, and how the correct view of God’s love affects our evangelism.  I would highly recommend this book.

5 thoughts on “My First Blog Post Ever and Thoughts About a Book

  1. I can’t wait to read this book. Maybe I can borrow it from you sometime. Thank you for taking the time to post information about books that you read. I know it will be a great help to all of us.

  2. I sent a comment earlier so I will test this again. I look forward to further posts on your blog site. It is exciting to read book reviews and to know what books are good to read. Thank you for doing this.

  3. Hi Brianna. I am glad to see you have a blog. As for the book….it sounds like a very good book. I will have to look into it sometime. I also love to read books. One of my favorite stores is half price books. I often find amazing books at such great prices there. And great job on the blog. I bookmarked it and will check in from time to time. Take care!!

Leave a Reply

